

ERCIM STM WG Award for the

Best Ph.D. Thesis on Security and Trust Management

The European Research Consortium in Informatics and Mathematics (ERCIM – www.ercim.org) has a technical WG on Security and Trust Management (STM – www.iit.cnr.it/STM-WG) for performing a series of activities, as research projects, workshop/conference organization, dissemination of knowledge, for increasing the European research and development capabilities on security, trust and privacy.

One of the main goals of the WG is to promote the scientific growth of young researchers interested in the field of security and trust management. Thus, ERCIM STM WG decided to establish an award for the best Ph.D. thesis in this area in order to increase the visibility of the young researchers inside the ERCIM scientific community as well as in the larger European one.

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- rigorous semantics and computational models for security and trust;
- \cdot security and trust management architectures, mechanisms and policies;
- networked systems security;
- privacy and anonymity;
- · identity management;
- · ICT for securing digital as well as physical assets;
- · cryptography.

Applications for the award in 2008 are open to all Ph.D. holders that defended their thesis during 2007 in any European University. Applications consisting of the Ph.D. Thesis (in PDF format), a short summary of the Thesis (mandatory in English) and at least two letters of support (one from a researcher of an ERCIM STM WG Institution) should be sent by February 20, 2008 to Fabio.Martinelli@ercim.org.

Theses will be evaluated by a Committee appointed from the European research community. The theses will be judged on the basis of scientific quality, originality, clarity of presentation, as well as potential impact of the results. The Committee members for the 2008 competition are:

Gilles Barthe, INRIA Theo Dimitrakos, BT Dieter Gollmann, Hamburg University of Technology Günter Karjoth, IBM Javier Lopez, University of Malaga Fabio Martinelli, CNR Mogens Nielsen, University of Aarhus Jean-Jacques Quisquater, Universite' catholique du Louvain Peter Ryan, University of Newcastle Pierangela Samarati, University of Milan

The ceremony for the award will be held during the 4th International Workshop on Security and Trust Management (STM08) on June 16-17 2008, Trondheim, Norway. (This event is collocated with EUROPKI08 and IFIP TM08.) The author of the best Ph.D. thesis will be invited for giving a Lecture at STM08.